Skip to content

Forcing Forsythia

February 12, 2012

I’ll freely admit that I have mixed success when it comes to caring for plants. I love the way they enliven any room, but I have been known to overwater jade plants. Thankfully, my latest experiment is turning into success. Two weeks ago, on an unseasonably warm Saturday, I decided to spruce up the yard. The daffodils were already starting to bloom. However, I don’t like to cut flowers from my yard when the whole neighborhood can enjoy them. The forsythia bush on the other hand, had buds but no blooms, and was in desperate need of a trim. I brought the budded branches into the house, stuck them in water, and placed them in a sunny window. I held my breath for a bit while I lived with sticks in water, but now, the buds are now slowly bursting and adding a much needed vibrancy to my living room. I’ve included photos of some of my other experiments, and a hostess stand display from Woodberry Kitchen.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

