Skip to content

Whomp! Goes The Barnes

May 28, 2012

I’ve been to many museums. I’ve seen many architectural feats. I’ve spent wondrous hours playing in nature. My new love is the Barnes Foundation’s Philadelphia campus, a combination of all three. Their around-the-clock opening extravaganza did it for me. For nearly 10 hours, I oogled the art collection, explored the grounds, and got to know Dr. Barnes. I heard the music of Flordel Toloache, Spoken Hand Percussion Orchestra, and Dende: Afro-Brazilian Funk. There was an Opera flash mob, and spoken word. In the morning, I did yoga under the most beautiful architectural morning light display imaginable, and then I learned a bit more about the art through a lecture entitled ‘Influences on Cezanne and the Impact on Modern Art.’ By the end of it, my comfort level may have become a bit too familial, or perhaps the place is pure brillance! Now I’m faced with a tough decision; I can’t decide if I’m most fond of:

1) The fact that The Barnes Foundation is seeking LEED Platinum Certification for their new building. An overwhelmingly stunning architectural “light box” created by Tod Williams and Billie Tsien, which is surrounded by the joyous landscape design of Olin, OR;

2) The actual collection of more than 800 paintings by some of the world’s most well known masters (check out Wikipedia’s breakdown of the numbers of Renoir’s, Cezanne’s, Matisse’s, Picasso’s, Rousseau’s, Van Gogh’s, Dega’s, and Seurat’s!!), AND downright hilarious letters penned by Dr. Barnes & his pseudonyms.

Luckily, I don’t think I actually have to choose. In case you would like to go, here is the organization’s website: http://www.barnesfoundation.org/about/faq

Disclaimer: I have to admit that I never made it to see The Barnes Foundation’s collection before their beleaguered move to the city, although I certainly heard about the controversy, and my Philly friends repeatedly told me to go. My bad Katie & Jeff (love, and thank you, to you both)!

We finally created a video…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

