Skip to content

Fancy Terrible

November 24, 2012

“This wasn’t just plain terrible, this was fancy terrible. This was terrible with raisins in it.” Good ole Dorothy Parker, she’s been one of my favorite heroes since the ninth grade. Her sayings cause pause, and I like to sprinkle them liberally, and as needed. This particular line is perfect for use during the holidays, a time when perfection simply isn’t obtainable, and all sorts of drama unfolds.

For me and mine, it almost always comes down to planning. See, I like plans. Especially during the holidays, as I always find myself overextended and a bit stressed this time of year. My family doesn’t seem to like plans. They are also a mix of vegan, and gluten adverse, and I find it difficult to feed them. So while I found the perfect recipe to cater to their needs, and even found a can of chickpeas without BPA; our reinvented ‘plans’ created early on Thanksgiving day didn’t work for me and I just didn’t go (drama avoided!). I won’t bore you with the details, I’ll simply share the great recipe (that I still served to them later in the day) found below.

Please note that the line about ‘serving immediately’ will preserve the pomegranate arils. On the other hand, if you don’t want to use something so high maintenance, and literally enjoy raisins, I’d imagine they make a workable substitute. I’m just trying to learn how to avoid them in general, and to also learn how to say “no” even more in order to preserve myself.

Ginger-Lime Kale with Squash & Chickpeas

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups chopped butternut squash, peeled and seeded (cut into 3/4-inch cubes)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp olive oil, divided
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp fresh grated ginger root
  • 8 cups thinly sliced kale leaves
  • 1 1/2 cups organic canned chickpeas, drained and rinsed (TIP: Opt for BPA-free canned beans such as Eden Organic.)
  • 1 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup fresh pomegranate arils

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. In a medium bowl, toss squash with 1/2 tbsp oil. Spread squash onto a parchment-lined rimmed baking sheet and roast for about 25 minutes, or until squash is fork tender and lightly browned. Remove squash from oven and let cool.
  2. Heat a wide and deep skillet over medium-low heat. Add remaining 1 tbsp oil to coat skillet. Add onion and cook, stirring, for 5 minutes. Add garlic and ginger, stirring for 30 seconds. Add kale, stirring for 1 minute until kale begins to wilt. Reduce heat to low, cover and cook for 10 minutes, stirring once or twice. Add chickpeas and stir, then cover and cook for another 5 minutes or until chickpeas are heated through. Remove pan from heat and add squash, lime juice and salt. Transfer mixture to large serving bowl and sprinkle with pomegranate arils. Serve immediately.
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

